In that same period, the Ohio native flexed his acting chops in movies like Don’t Look Up (2021), Crisis (2021), and Drunk Parents (2019). “I would always sit back and watch Kenya Barris, Jordan Peele, and Issa Rae. And I’d think, Man, I want to be a part of that. I want to be spoken about in that group of Black creators,” he confesses during our interview.  His latest project, Entergalactic, dubbed an “adult animated special,” for Netflix may just help him accomplish that. The special, accompanied by an album of the same name, follows the journey of an endearing street artist named Jabari, voiced by Scott, who falls in love with his next-door neighbor, Meadow, voiced by Jessica Williams (Love Life).  “Early on, I was thinking, I really want to tell a Black love story in the animated space. That was really important for me because we have not seen that,” Scott tells BuzzFeed. “You don’t really see Black love stories all that much on TV in general, live-action or animated. So it was really important for me.” Keep reading to see what else Scott shared with me, including how he was able to convince Timothée Chalamet to voice a character in Entergalactic before reading the script, and his thoughts on people who will inevitably compare Entergalactic to 2018’s critically acclaimed animation Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse.  She’s really funny and down-to-earth. I was not expecting that. I didn’t expect her to be [mean] or anything. But not everybody is like that. Not everybody is open and warm like that when you meet them. She was really sweet. One thing that I do understand is that whether me and Timmy are friends or not, he’s not about to do some shit just because. So it needed to be dope. And it needed to be something that made sense for him to do. After he read the script, he said, “Yo, this is fire. I fuck with this.” I was relieved. I was like, Okay, he truly fucks with this. It means a lot to me. The fact that he, Jessica [Williams], Laura [Harrier], Vanessa [Hudgens], and Macaulay [Culkin] all wanted to do this … I’m like, Man, this is my idea and they fuck with my idea. It’s super humbling. This role was interesting because the sex scenes in X are supposed to be funny. You’re supposed to watch it and laugh a little bit. I was thinking, I don’t want the idea of me having sex to be funny. I didn’t want people to be like, “Look at Scott having sex, haha!” I wanted people to say, “Ooh.” [laughs] I was worried about how it all would come across onscreen, but it ended up working out. I was nervous watching it for the first time. But it was cool, man. It was cool. I would always sit back and watch Kenya Barris, Jordan Peele, and Issa Rae. And I’d think, Man, I want to be a part of that. I want to be spoken about in that group of Black creators. I think Entergalactic is definitely going to fit in with everything else that’s happening currently with innovative Black entertainment.

Kid Cudi Talks About Entergalactic s Black Love Story - 35Kid Cudi Talks About Entergalactic s Black Love Story - 99Kid Cudi Talks About Entergalactic s Black Love Story - 92Kid Cudi Talks About Entergalactic s Black Love Story - 49